Mar 02, 2024  
2020 Undergraduate Studies Bulletin 
2020 Undergraduate Studies Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law

Dean: Dean J. Rich Leonard

In the early 1970s, Campbell University’s third president, Norman Adrian Wiggins, began discussing his vision of a small, private law school that would develop lawyers with moral conviction, compassion and competence, to create a more just society.

President Wiggins traveled throughout North Carolina, enthusiastically presenting his vision for a unique law school, raising the substantial funds required, and attracting outstanding lawyers and legal educators to the new endeavor.

His vision – supported by hard work, patience and outstanding leadership – became a reality when the charter class of 97 students inaugurated the Campbell University School of Law in August 1976. Ten years later, Campbell University’s Board of Trustees renamed the law school, the Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law, to honor his pioneering efforts and leadership.

A new era for the Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law was launched on October 3, 2007, when the University Trustees voted unanimously to relocate the School of Law to Raleigh, North Carolina. In September of 2009, law school operations began in downtown Raleigh in a state-of-the-art facility located just steps from the legal heartbeat of North Carolina.

Campbell Law School is a highly demanding, purposely small, intensely personal community of faculty and students whose aim, guided by transcendent values, is to develop lawyers who possess moral conviction, social compassion, and professional competence and who view the practice of law as a calling to serve others and to create a more just society.